2015 Award

Wales Book of the Year Award 2015

The 2015 Wales Book of the Year Award will be presented to the best Welsh and English-language works first published in 2014 in the fields of creative writing and literary criticism in three categories: Fiction, Creative Non-Fiction and Poetry. The winner of the Poetry category will receive the Roland Mathias Prize for Poetry. The Award is administered by Literature Wales.

Wales Book of the Year Short List 2015


The Roland Mathias Poetry Award Short List:

Telling Tales, Patience Agbabi (Canongate Books)
So Many Moving Parts, Tiffany Atkinson (Bloodaxe Books)
My Family and Other Superheroes, Jonathan Edwards (Seren)

Fiction Short List

The Redemption of Galen Pike, Carys Davies (Salt)
The Dig, Cynan Jones (Granta)
Burrard Inlet, Tyler Keevil (Parthian)

Creative Non-Fiction Short List

Down to the Sea in Ships, Horatio Clare (Chatto & Windus)
Other People’s Countries, Patrick McGuinness (Jonathan Cape)
American Interior, Gruff Rhys (Hamish Hamilton)

Welsh-language Wales Book of the Year Short List

Poetry Short List
Un Stribedyn Bach, Rhys Iorwerth (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)
Storm ar Wyneb yr Haul, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)
Wilia, Meic Stephens (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

Fiction Short List
Awst yn Anogia, Gareth F. Williams (Gwasg Gwynedd)
Saith Oes Efa, Lleucu Roberts (Y Lolfa)
Y Fro Dywyll, Jerry Hunter (Y Lolfa)

Creative Non-Fiction Short List
Rhyw Flodau Rhyfel, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Y Lolfa)
100 o Olygfeydd Hynod Cymru, Dyfed Elis-Gruffydd (Y Lolfa)
Mwy na Bardd, Kate Crockett (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

The 2015 Judging Panel

English-language panel:

Paul Henry is the author of nine books of verse, a songwriter and a broadcaster who has written and presented arts programmes for BBC Radio Wales, Radio 3 and Radio 4.

Tessa Hadley is the author of five novels and two collections of short stories. She is no stranger to literary awards having been longlisted, amongst others, for the Guardian First Book Award, the Orange Prize and for the Wales Book of the Year Award, and her most recent novel, Clever Girl (Random House) reached the Wales Book of the Year Award Short List in 2014.

Alex Clark is a journalist and literary critic who has served on the judging panel for literary awards including The Man Booker Prize, The Culture Show’s New Novelists: 12 of the Best, and the Encore Award for best second novel.

Welsh-language Panel:

Annes Glynn is a novelist, a short story writer and a writer of micro-fiction. Annes won the Prose Medal at the National Eisteddfod in 2004 with her collection of micro-fiction Symudliw (Gwasg Gwynedd). This book was also on the long list for the Wales Book of the Year Award 2005.

Hywel Griffiths won the Crown at the National Eisteddfod in 2008. He currently lectures in the Department of Geography and Earth Sciences at Aberystwyth University.

Gareth Potter is an actor, musician, DJ and author. In 2010 he wrote and performed Gadael yr Ugeinfed Ganrif (Sherman Cymru) the history of his musical adventures from punk to acid house from 1979 to 1999.

Award Ceremony

The winners of the 2015 Award will be announced at a glittering Award Ceremony at Galeri Caernarfon on Thursday 4 June. Each category winner will receive a prize of £2,000, and the two main winners in each language will receive an additional £6,000.

Tickets for the Award Ceremony are £10.00 (£8.00 concessions) and can be purchased directly from Galeri Caernarfon:
01286 685222 / www.galericaernarfon.com

For further information about the award, contact Literature Wales: 029 2047 2266 / post@literaturewales.org



Eligible English-language books submitted






Creative Non-Fiction


Eligible Welsh-language Books Submitted






Creative Non-Fiction